Christmas

It’s Christmas,

photo by hungrybison

Pouring myself a scotch and soda.

Sitting on the couch,

same old faces,

same old stories.

Same assholes with their brood of asshole children.

 

“Who let the dog in?’

“Stop teasing your brother.”

“Don’t play around the tree!”

 

Pouring myself another scotch and soda.

 

” I got this present last Christmas.”

” She didn’t send me a card this year.”

” Get away from the TV, I can’t see through you!”

 

Pouring myself another scotch and soda.

 

Dad, like a drunken robed Hitler,

barks commands from his armchair.

Slouched, he tells jokes about “fags” and “foreigners”.

His commentary brings vomit to the back of my throat.

Mom, in the kitchen, elbow deep in turkey fat,

sisters gossip about “sluts” they know.

Mindless.

 

Pouring myself another scotch and soda.

Leave a comment

Filed under original photography, original writing, poem, short stories

Leave a Reply

