West Texas

I will leave more dead

photo by hungrybison

More dead than “Billy The Kid”
Fuck him, I’ll be King

King of the outlaws
Pissing fire ‘cross west Texas
Causing whores to bleed

Devoured, beast like
Wipe my fingers on the walls
My face on linens

Choking in death’s grip
The snake’s tongue, mimics a kiss
to lick the cool air

Violent redemption
Thru which to gain infamy
My hands are Christlike

Head lights shine dimly
Crumbled heaps in the darkness
Like dirt roads, nameless

Heaven in my truck
Hell shines from my dashboard
“Radio Jesus”

Leave a comment

Filed under American West, outlaw poetry, poetry, short stories

Leave a Reply

